Why Jews are professionally successful…

A friend of mine told me a great joke last week:

What is a Bar Mitzvah?
It’s the point in a Jewish males life where he realizes he has a better chance of being the agent than the professional sports star.

Ari Gold - what a Jew!

Ari Gold - what a Jew!

It’s funny because it’s true. This joke sparked me to discuss the subject of Jewish professions. Let’s start with the facts of my own life:  My family may not be the typical Jewish family in regards to professions – we have no lawyers, the only doctor in my extended family is a retired chiropractor and my dad is the only accountant by college degree but worked in sales for most of his professional life. However, our friends make up for our lack of presence in the url-1medical and law fields. My dentist and my eye doctor are also my good family friends. My dad is my personal accountant and does my taxes every year. My best friend is in med school in Israel and my other good friend is a Physician Assistant and advises me what to do when my stomach hurts (which is quite often, since Jews have awful stomachs). Ryan and I both have a number of friends who are lawyers or in law school, so of course I can call them when let’s say a tree falls on my car at Ryan’s condo and I want to know what I can legally do about it so I don’t have to pay to fix the damage (thanks Scott).

While a number of my Jewish girl friends went into the communications fields (Advertising, Journalism or PR) and are struggling with money in our twenties, give us all about 10 years and I can guarantee that most of us will be in high level management positions. Jews by nature are fighters. We typically take our work seriously and strive to climb the corporate ladder as fast as possible. We are also a close-knit group of people and we know how to network. When I was looking for an advertising internship, my mom decided to tell some people that she knew what I was looking for. Within a few days, she gave me contact of a guy who knew someone who knew someone who was the president of an advertising agency in Atlanta. While I was too late to apply for that internship in Atlanta, I did get my intern position at Zimmerman Partners Advertising in Ft. Lauderdale through another Jewish friend.

I leave you with some words of wisdom. As my parents always say, “it’s not what you know, it’s who you know that matters.” Now think about my previous lesson on Jewish Geography…

"You won't succeed on Broadway if you don't have any Jews." - Spamalot

"You won't succeed on Broadway if you don't have any Jews." - Spamalot

April 8, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

